Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program

Student Smiling

Make your academic dream a reality

The ATSS Foundation provides scholarships for loved ones of fallen or permanently disabled roadway workers until we can reduce the number of work zone deaths. It is our hope to eventually give out zero scholarships as a result of zero fatalities.

The Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program provides financial assistance for post-high school education to dependents (children and spouses) of roadway workers killed or permanently disabled in roadway work zones. The Foundation will help ensure that their dependents academic dreams will continue.

This program is competitive and has a value of up to $10,000. Applicants who demonstrate a strong commitment to volunteerism may be eligible to receive an additional $1,000 in honor of Chuck Bailey, who was an esteemed member of the roadway safety industry who passed away in June 2002.

Know someone who is eligible? Encourage them to apply for the Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship.

Download the application - must be received by Feb. 15, 2023 for the 2023-24 academic year

2022 Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to the 2022-23 Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship Recipients:

  • Aaron Baker – Le Center, Minn.
  • James Beard - Highland, Ill.
  • Tessa Beard - Highland, Ill.
  • Daniel Hart - Ridge, N.Y.
  • Emily Hause - Eaton Rapids, Mich.
  • Katie Hutt - Cleveland, Tenn.
  • Joann Jones - Bluffton, Ind. (also received a Chuck Bailey Scholarship)
  • Mariela Lara – Ojai, Calif.
  • Rylee O’Brien – Frederic, Wis.
  • Sydney Parsons - Kelso, Wash. (also received a Chuck Bailey Scholarship)
  • Alex Perez – Indianapolis, Ind.
  • Kaitlyn Pirelli - Chicago, Ill.
  • Megan Pirelli - Chicago, Ill.
  • Maycie Walker - Dry Ridge, Ky.


Learn more about the 2022 recipients


Scholarship Recipient Map


The American Traffic Safety Services Foundation is a qualified 501(c)3 tax-exempt organization. Contributions are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.
Consult your tax advisor regarding specific questions about your deductions. The Foundation’s tax identification number is 62-1384292.

Social media

Promoting roadway safety through charitable giving and public awareness

The American Traffic Safety Services Foundation (The Foundation) works to make zero deaths a reality by offering charitable programs, events, and spreading the word through public awareness. Toward Zero Deaths. Toward Zero Scholarships. Toward Zero Names.


The Foundation is the charitable arm of ATSSA.

Contact us

  • 15 Riverside Parkway, Fredericksburg, VA 22406-1077
  • 1-540-368-1701