Navigating an academic path forward

ATSS Foundation provides scholarships for loved ones of fallen or permanently disabled roadway workers until we can reduce the number of work zone deaths. It is our hope to eventually give out zero scholarships as a result of zero fatalities.

The Roadway Worker Memorial and Chuck Bailey Scholarship Programs provide financial assistance for post-high school education to dependents (children and spouses) of roadway workers killed or permanently disabled in work zone incidents. The Foundation helps to navigate the path to fulfill academic dreams of their dependents.

The program is competitive and has a value of up to $10,000 for an academic year. Applicants who demonstrate a strong commitment to volunteerism may be eligible to receive an additional $1,000 in honor of Chuck Bailey, an esteemed member of the roadway safety industry who passed away in June 2002. Bailey was a member of the Ohio ATSSA Chapter, and not only worked tirelessly to get Congress to approve funding dedicated for roadway safety projects, but also was quick to share his knowledge, contacts and time.

Know someone who is eligible? Encourage them to apply for the Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship.

Applications are closed for the 2024-25 academic year.

2024 Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to the 2024-25 Roadway Worker Memorial Scholarship Recipients:

  • James Beard – Highland, Ill. (also received a Chuck Bailey Scholarship)
  • Tessa Beard – Highland, Ill.
  • Christopher Fletcher – Perrysville, Ohio (new scholarship recipient)
  • Chris Hutt – Cleveland, Tenn. (new scholarship recipient)
  • Katie Hutt – Cleveland, Tenn.
  • Mariela Lara – Long Beach, Calif.
  • Taylor Lingafelter – Sullivan, Ill. (new scholarship recipient; also received a Chuck Bailey Scholarship)
  • Leah McCance – Broken Arrow, Okla.
  • Sydney Parsons – Wenatchee, Wash.
  • Alex Perez – Indianapolis, Ind.
  • Megan Pirelli – Chicago, Ill.
  • Mary Sollars – Rocky River, Ohio (new scholarship recipient)